PosterFilm_Crew

This is the poster that I made in lesson about my two chosen job choices, Camera Operator and Producer:  Document2

Skills

To become a camera operator I need to be able to work in a team, be able to communicate well with the team, be reliable and good at time keeping. I believe that I am good at working in a team as I’m not shy so I will be able to effectively communicate with the team. However, I will need to work on my reliability and time keeping. I will develop these skills from this course, as I will have blog posts that need to be done, in a certain time frame.

To become a producer, I will need to have a good creative vision, be self-motivaed, good at working in a team, negotiating, motivating people and problem solving. The only skill that I can do on that list, is working in a team. I will develop the creative vision and problem solving skill from this course, as I will be doing tasks that require this skill. However, the other skills will need to be developed individually, as they’re not particularly required on this course.

Celebrity Producer

Lizzie Hollick – https://www.thetalentmanager.co.uk/talent/2447/lizzie-hollick

Lizzie has worked as a producer for 10 years, in the TV industry. She has worked on many things such as, I’m a Celebrity Get Me Out of Here in 2013, The Alan Titchmarsh Show in 2014 and ITV’s This Morning from 2009-2011. As a producer she has dealt with “celebrity agents, pluggers, publicists on a daily basis”. She has also built many contacts in the “TV, film, music, sport, theatre, comedy, fashion and food” industries. Also, as a producer, she has “experience of setting up shoots for broadcast (booking crew/locations/casting etc).” She has worked with many broadcasting channels including, BBC, ITV, Channel 4, Sky Atlantic, E4 and More4.  However, for all of her job’s she hasn’t always worked as a Celebrity Producer, some job roles were “Assistant Producer”, “Casting AP”, “Celebrity Booker”, “Entertainment Associate”, “Senior Entertainment Producer” and “Promotions Production Co-Ordinator/Manager”.

“Lizzie is a fantastic booker with great contacts and a real can-do attitude; she is a pleasure to work with and has added real value to the series she has worked with me on. Cant really fault her . . .” Ed Taylor, Executive Producer.

Evaluation of methodology 

For my research I used secondary research, and no primary research. I should’ve used primary research to find a wider range of information on my chosen job(s), however, they may not be reliable as I would have asked people of my age, mostly, and no one who is experienced on the subject of my requirements to get the job. This is why I used the internet, as it’s quick and easy to find out how to get the job, and what I will need to achieve. The sites I visited were also reliable, such as the Sheffield Hallam University website for the degree level information. However, if I would’ve had the time and booked appointments with people who have that job. I would have to interview more than one person as well, because the opinion on the job would depend on how well the persons day is, as someone may be having a stressful day and tell you all of the negative things about the job role, but someone may be having a good day and tell you all of the positive aspects.

