Secondary Research

From going on ‘http://www.tripadvisor.co.uk/Attraction_Review-g186364-d213577-Reviews-National_Emergency_Services_Museum-Sheffield_South_Yorkshire_England.html#REVIEWS’ I have found out that most people really enjoyed their experience, especially the little kids. The younger children really enjoyed interacting with the fire engines. However, one person did say that they thought the museum should have been more interactive.

From going on the Emergency Services Museum’s website, ‘http://emergencymuseum.org.uk/index.html’, I have found the map of the museum and how to get there. I now know which exhibits on are which floor, and where about they are, etc. I also know how to get there via many different transports, the tram section is the best way for us as that’s what we will be travelling by.

From going on ‘http://www.dummies.com/how-to/content/how-to-film-marketing-videos-in-public-places.html’, I have found out some information on how to film in public places. I have learnt that you need to practice the scene first so that you can quickly shoot is and get out of the publics way. Also, we need to get a good mic (which we have) because of the background noise going on. And finally, we need to ask anyone who we are interviewing/using their faces, for their permission. This helps me film my video because I will know the do’s and dont’s when recording a video in public.

This is the link to screenshots and links to my research: secondary research

Primary Research

Questionnaire:

Screen Shot 2015-10-05 at 15.42.38

From this open-ended question I found out that most people prefer to have incentives and things that will catch the audiences eye in a promotional video. This will help my know what to put into my video, such as a quick memorising, eye catching speed to the video.

Screen Shot 2015-10-05 at 15.41.54

From this question I found out than people would prefer to watch a promotional video, and think that would encourage them to visit a museum. From this, I definitely know I will be making a video rather than a poster or any other advertisement techniques.

Screen Shot 2015-10-05 at 15.41.07

From this question I know that most people would like to pay a fee of £5-£10 for a museum, which is good because the National Emergency Museum have a £5 fee. I know now that, because it’s in the range I gathered from my research more people will want to go, so I will put the price onto the video.

Screen Shot 2015-10-05 at 15.41.01

From this question I know that most people want to be informed when they go to a museum, which is good because the National Services Emergency is very informative. So, this will influence me to put some general views of the museum including some information boards, etc. The second answer is entertained, which is also good because there are a lot of things that you can use to be entertained in the video, which means that I will include them into my video, also.

Screen Shot 2015-10-05 at 15.40.28

From this I know that 98% of the people who answered my questionnaire haven’t been to the museum, which means that I will need to make a good video to attract more costumers to the museum.

Screen Shot 2015-10-05 at 15.40.55

From this I know that most people who answered either go with their parents, children or partner. Their family. Which means, I will need to make my video appeal to families and attract all ages so that it can show that the museum will be a good family day out, for everyone and not just the elder or younger generations.

VoxPop:

We went around the college today doing some VoxPop’s, asking people questions and museums and what they enjoy about them so that we can base our promotional video on their responses. We interviewed four different people as we had a time restriction. We found that most people visit museums around 2/3 times a year and it all revolves around where about they are, for example in London they have a lot more interesting and entertaining museums then many places. Only one of our interviewees have been to the National Emergency Services Museum recently, which tells us that we need to make our promotional video very entertaining so that we can attract more customers for them. They also said that they prefer to just pay using donations, and if not they prefer a small fee such as £5. But, We also found out that people pay for the quality of the museum. This will help me with my video because I know what the audience will want from the museum, which means that I know what to include in my video.

