Screen Shot 2016-01-16 at 21.14.38I like Mark Grassia’s website portfolio (http://markgrassia.com) because it’s very simple and it has mainly a red, black and white colour palette. I like the fact that it’s all in line with each other and not messy, and also simple to use.  I also like Andy Hau’s (http://www.andyhau.com) because it’s not the normal square thumbnails, it has circle thumbnails that don’t look out of place but look very neat. The colour palette is also very calm and nothing stands out to the fact that it looks tacky. Nice and Serious’ website (http://niceandserious.com) is very simple and has a lot of open space. I do like the simplicity of the design, however I think the colour tint on the thumbnails are too bright and I think that there is too much space and it’s not in line. Helen and Hard’s website (http://www.helenhard.no) is very simple. The colour palette is nice and neutral with black and white, and I also like the branch idea. Jon Dodd’s portfolio is also nice (http://jon.dodd.xyz) with the neutral colour palette, however I think it’s a bit too boring and simple. I really liked Adrian Cabrero’s website (http://adriancabrero.nyc/#section1) because I like sunset pictures and his header is a very lovely sunset picture, also the thumbnails are in black and white which makes the portfolio look very nice and neat. Apparatus’ website (http://apparatusstudio.com) is lovely as the colours are very calm, too, and mostly black and white but with nice colours that stand out. It’s also very easy to use. Sherwood Chauffeur’s website (http://www.sherwoodchauffeurs.co.uk) is also very nice and simple with the white, grey and black colour palette and very nice and neat pictures of the cars to make it look professional. The splash of yellow at the bottom stands out too.

Screen Shot 2016-01-16 at 21.14.47I really like the first font, ‘SignPainter HouseScript’, because it’s very elegant and pretty. I’ve always liked this type of writing because it reminds me of how people used to write with quill pens. I also liked the seconds font, Giddyup Std Regular, because it’s a lot like the Disney font. However, I think it may start to get hard to read and also might look a bit too childish and unprofessional for my portfolio. My third choice was a nice, simples, serif font in italic, Athelas Italic. I liked it because it looks professional, however I don’t think it’s right for my page as it will be more laid back. Which leads me to my fourth font, Noteworthy Light, the most casual font. I like this because it’s a very casual sans-serif font and it will make the viewer’s think that I am a nice, relaxed person. The fourth font, in the middle, PT Sans Narrow Regular, is just a plain, normal sans-serif font which I think could be good for the writing, but maybe too boring and plain. I like the type writing style font, Orator Std Medium, because it reminds me of people who used to use type writers and it reminds me of history, which I love. The next font is a nice bold serif font, Trajan Pro 3 Regular, that stands out as it’s in nice big capital letters. I think it could be nice, but not on my web page. This is the same with the last font, Trajan Pro Regular, as they’re really similar. I like the eighth font, Copperplate Light, as it’s serif but it’s not as obvious as the previous font. But I don’t think it would be nice on my web page.

Screen Shot 2016-01-16 at 21.14.55

Screen Shot 2016-01-18 at 13.42.01.png
I have looked up many, many colour palette’s and couldn’t talk about them all. So I picked out a few of my favourite. This is probably my favourite,  because it’s very subtle and not alarming. I think it’s also calming and will go very well with my preferred font, ‘SignPainter HouseScript’. I think it’s very soothing and also professional as it’s not neon, bright colours. When I thought about doing this project I knew I wanted pastel colours that don’t look tacky and unproScreen Shot 2016-01-18 at 13.42.09.pngfessional, this colour palette fits that criteria. I also like this colour palette, because it’s a dark, professional colour palette. I like my dark colours where they don’t stand out too much, but they stand out enough. I think this one would be a nice fit, but I don’t think it would go very well wiScreen Shot 2016-01-18 at 13.42.15.pngth  my preferred font. Additionally, I like this colour palette because it’s not a dark and also a bit feminine, like me. I like my dark colours but also have a feminine side to me and this colour palette reflects that.

Hosting

When you host a site it means that the hosting company has access to all of your files linked to your website and it gives the viewers access to those files too. It’s always better  to host your site with a company other than self-hosting because you’ll have to keep your computer on all the time and it’ll slow down your internet, especially if you have videos on the sit

ehost.com is a really cheap site to host from, as you have a free doScreen Shot 2016-02-01 at 17.22.44main
ame, email address and marketing tools. It’s also easy to use as you ca
n drag and drop the site to build it up. It also has 45 days of money
back, and
£200 worth of free advertisement for your site.

iPage.com is another cheap site with free domain name, security, site-building tools and an online store. It’Screen Shot 2016-02-01 at 17.26.30s also green as it’s powered by 100% wind energy and nothing else. However, you only have 30 day money back, not 45 days. It hosts on sites like google, submitnet, shopsite, wordpress, green badges and sitelock. However, ehost.com hosts also on google and wordpress but has a better variety like yahoo and bing.

Copyright

On my site I’m going to have to be careful about copyright issues. Because my website is going to be a portfolio for my work I have to be careful at what music I put on the back of my videos and make sure my videos are my own work. In every video that I put up, if they have people in them I will need consent forms from them as they’re not allowed on the internet without their permission. Also, my photography has to be my own photo’s too, and I can’t use ones from the internet or any other photo’s that I didn’t take myself. The content that I put on my site can’t be copied either, I have to use my own words for everything. If they do have other peoples words, or any of things, I have to reference the source properly so I can’t pass it on as my own.

Tutorials

When learning how to use Adobe Muse I mainly got help from my teachers and peers, but if I don’t know how to do something and I’m notaround anyone I will have to teach myself and possibly look at youtube tutorials and looking at forums.

Widgets

“an application, or a component of an interface, that enables a use to perform a function or access a service” 

(https://www.google.co.uk/search?client=safari&rls=en&q=what+are+widgets&ie=UTF-8&oe=UTF-8&gfe_rd=cr&ei=nCyiVqGgCYSFVK2ovrgC) (n/a) n/a)

They’re downloadable add ons that you can place onto your website via the widgets library,  that’s coding that’s ready made. It’s like an app, or a template that you can just add onto your website. This makes it a lot easier to make your web page as yoScreen Shot 2016-02-01 at 17.37.07u don’t have to do all of the complicated coding. For example, I found a widget that is really nice and smart from https://musefree.com/demo/gallery/02/index.html. I also found another widget that is where you have a video, full page, playing on your web (http://museresources.com/full-screen-youtube-video.html).

