The first thing we did was to find an idea for our film, which was quite a challenge as I didn’t really know what type of action film I wanted to do. Once I got my idea, I started to do my proposal for the project. I had to explain my concept in detail and narrow it down to mountain biking in the Peak District, rather that just any cycling. I also put in about what other aspects I’m going to put into the film, like interviews with different people to give the film more texture. I also had to write a rationale to understand what skills I have developed which will help me with this project, and also which skills I’ll need for this project and what I will gain from this project. I then had to write about how I’m going to evaluate the project, by doing research on my decisions and comparing it to other people’s films. Then, I had to gather recourses and create a Harvard bibliography, which I will use for my research into the project. This will help me when I get onto starting the secondary research, because then I have a list of webpages and books which I know will help me on this project. The final part of the proposal is the action plan, which helps me know which week I’m going to do what part of the project. This helps me get organised with the project and keeps me grounded on what I need to do when, so that I’m not disorganised with the project.

I then did some research on how to film effective audio outside, trying to get barely any wind/background noise picked up. By doing this, we went outside (or anywhere with brackground noise), to conduct some interviews with people in our class. The interviews weren’t relevant to the research, however the camera and audio work was. For the audio, we learnt that holding the boom below the subject reduces the background noise as much as possible. When we were going outside to film these interviews, it was quite a sunny day which meant that the subject was squinting quite a bit on the first take. We learnt that whenever you’re outside you should be at a 90 degree angle to the sun so that it’s not blinding the subject, but you also get good lighting. So, on the second take we did it inside a place with background noise and tried again.

Conclusively, I have learnt quite a few things. I now know what skills you need to film this type of action film, how to compose a film with the sun blaring in someones eyes and where to hold the boom when there is a lot of background noise or wind. Next week I need to do a lot more research, research into the Peak District routes and facilities, how to film a good action film, how to compose aesthetically pleasing establishing shots and how to make my cinematography to a higher standard to make the film effective.

 

 

