My film is going to be about before a transgender transition, during and after. I will be interviewing a few of my friends who are transgender about how they felt before the transition, and after. What research they did to come to the conclusion that they were transgender, etc. It’s going to be a social realistic film, which is where the facts are right but put into a drama film to make the film a lot more gripping and interesting to the audience.

How an audience be targeted?

I will target my audience on many different platforms of social media. My audience will be any age and gender, but mainly to the teenage and young adult age. My film is going to be a drama piece based on someone’s transition between genders and how hard it was for them to transition and the difficulties they face. Therefore, it will be based at people who want to transition to show them that despite all of the hard times it will have a positive outcome and you will finally be happy. However, it’ll also be aimed at the people who express their opinions harshly to transgender people and how that makes them feel, even if they don’t show it.

Since the main audience will be around 16-25, I will used a wide range of social media for this, such as Facebook, Twitter, Instagram and YouTube. On Facebook I will create a Facebook page about the film with an artistic and intriguing picture about the film to entice people to like the page to find out more. I’ll invite my Facebook friends to like the page as a first step as it will mean it has a small stage of promotion that can only get bigger. Brubaker (pg.60) said, “One of the coolest aspects of building a Facebook fan page to promote your movie is the ease with which you can build buzz and create community around your title” which is exactly what I’d like to do, I’d like to make people feel comfortable about themselves and be able to express themselves and their story on my page to create a community, not just a fan base. Reiss says to “fill out as many fields as possible to maximise searching potential”, which is what i’m going to do what I make my Facebook page, so that if someone searches anything that’s on the page it will come up on the findings.

On Twitter and Instagram I will make a profile for the film and make a hashtag of the film name. I’ll promote the page on my personal profiles and also ask a lot of my friends and family to follow that page so that I have a small bit of recognition. I’ll also follow a lot of big people such as production companies and filmmakers.  On Twitter, I’ll retweet and like relevant pages tweets to try and get them to follow me and also to show other people that my page is there. Brubaker (pg. 62) said that “The key to making Twitter work is dependant upon making sure that your tweets are  interesting and engaging“, which is what I’m going to do that I’m getting promotion on my pages and create a buzz. Parks says “Come across as a human being with important things to say”, “Twitter about what interests you” and “don’t just blog about your film, blog about what is of interest to people who might be interested in your film”. I’ll be taking all of these points into mind when I’m tweeting on the Twitter page because I want to try and stir up the biggest buzz I can and not just seem like all I care about is my film, which isn’t true. I also won’t tweet like i’m a company that has no soul, I’ll tweet like a person and reply to people to keep them interested. Parks said that “Most retailers reports a low level of success from just getting a lot of followers and blasting them with advertisements on Twitter” which makes me want to write about interesting things and not just promoting my film all the time.

On all of these social media’s, I will update the pages as soon as something new happens, any progression I get on any form of the production processes will be posted on social media to create a buzz with my followers to be excited about the film. I will tell my audience the genre and the idea for my film, however I won’t give anything away that will spoil the film. I’ll be posting pictures of anything I can, especially when the production begins to start a countdown to the big release. I will also comment back to any comments I get on any of the platforms so that my audience know that I am open to any suggestions and that I’m happy to talk to anyone, like Brubaker (pg. 61) said,”unlike BIG Hollywood power-players, your fans have access to you. This allows you to make their experience more personalized“. Parks said that artwork is really important, “You will need the artwork to design an initial one-sheet and/or for your main website and social media pages” and I agree with this because it’ll create a good buzz because you can see something visually rather than having to read posts all the time with nothing aesthetically pleasing. Parks also said that you should have constant “Web presence” and put loads of things on like pictures, trailers and your sizzle reel.

Outlets

Once my film has been made, I could put my film into the London LGBT Film Festival. For this, all I have to do is enter it in on the website next year when the festival is back on to see if mine gets picked. If it did, it would target my audience a lot because it’s to do with transgender transitions and a lot of transgender people will be going to the Festival. There’s also a closer festival I could enter it into, the Leeds Queer Film Festival. It will show them that if they had a bad transition, they’re not the only ones. I will also be on YouTube for everyone to see so that people can find it easily and quickly. The title will also have something to do with the subject on it so that anyone looking for something similar will be able to find it when they’re searching. I could also try and submit my film onto shortoftheweek.com, which is $29 to submit and is a very large website for high quality shorts. This website doesn’t have a very wide range of shorts about transgenderiism, meaning mine would fill a hole in the website. However, the website is very high quality meaning that mine not specifically get onto the website.

Survey findings

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

The first question was to know the persons age, so that I had a rough idea about what age group I’ll be targeting with my film. I started off my survey getting to know the demographic and about themselves. By doing this, I’ll know where to advertise my film because most of the younger people will use YouTube and social media, most of the older people might not be on social media or use YouTube that much as they have other things to do. 60% of the people who answered were my age of 16-18, which makes it easier because I know how to target that demographic of audience. And again, the other age with a high percentage was 19-25 which is also easy for me to target because it’s close to my age. From the rest of the results, there are a lot of anomalies such as 51-60 and over 61. These people wouldn’t specifically be my target audience because they’re not of the higher percentage targeted, considering I put my survey on social media the other people who wouldn’t fill it out might not use social media very much meaning they wouldn’t be the right people to target.The next question I asked was the person’s gender. Since I’m doing a film about transgender transitions, I couldn’t have the choices as just ‘female, male, other’ because I need to know if anyone who is transgender would be interested in the film. From my results, 50% of people who answered were male and 43% were female. That leaves the other answers to be someone that non-binary, other and transgender. I’d have preferred if more transgender people would have completed the survey however I may not have targeted that audience correctly when I put the survey out there. Since the widest demographic is males, I’ll have to put more masculine aspects into the film. To do this, since my interviewee’s are female to male transgender, I will also follow that line to target the masculine audience because it’ll be about being a male and the struggles of that. The next question is to find out the audience sexual orientation since I know some of the interviewee’s I’ll be using to inspire my video are not straight, so I’d like to see who would be relating to the film in that aspect. 81% of the people said they were heterosexual, which means that they may not relate to the film if the character ends up being bisexual or homosexual. The other highest percentage is bisexual, which is which means they’d relate to the film if I make the character bisexual, which I reckon I will do.

The next question was based on the persons personal references to films. I asked was how long they can watch a short film until they get bored, only 10% put 1-2 minutes which is good because my film will be around 6 minutes. 64% of the people voted for 4.5 minutes and more, which is great because my film will hopefully be longer than that. This is a good outcome for that question, because I wouldn’t know what to do if the outcome was all 1-2 minutes because mine would be a lot longer than that since the aim in college is for around 6 minutes. However, I’ve got to make sure the film isn’t boring and doesn’t drag on so that most of the people watching it don’t get bored and so that I can try and target the people who chose 1-2 minutes. The next question is to do with how often a month people watch films. The average on this question was 5.6 times a week, which means that the demographic I’m targeting will actually watch a film that I put up on social media if it’s there to watch. The next question was to see, on a scale of 1-5 how much they like watching short films. The outcome was good because it was an average of 3.45, which is a good middle and not too low that people won’t want to watch the film at all. This suggests that I will have an audience for the film and they will be interested in watching the film. Going on with this, another one of the questions is whether they’d watch a film about transgender transiting based on personal experience. 79% of the people who answered said they would watch the film, and only 21% said they wouldn’t be interested. This suggests once again that I do have a potential audience for my film and that it’s worth going along with it.The next question was asking what genre the audience favoured. The highest percentage was thriller, and the lowest was western (which had no ticks). However, everything else was ticked. This again means that my drama does have potential to have an audience. This also helps me because I would incorporate different genres into the film, such as romance and comedy to widen the audience. After asking questions about their film preferences, I have found that I will have an audience that will want to watch this film, even if it may be small.

The next section is about the context of the film and whether they would watch it. As I said earlier, one of the questions was whether they’d watch the film with the context that I’ve decided and that most of the people said they would. The next question is to see how people feel when they watch that type of film, to see if they’d enjoy it or if they’d feel uncomfortable. 59% people came back with the positive outcome of saying they’d feel informed about the transition process, and then 10% and 7% said they’d feel proud and inspired to watch the film. This is good because then I know the majority would watch it and will feel comfortable watching about it. 17% they would feel nothing watching the film, which is also a good outcome as they’d not feel anything bad watching the film. However, 7% of the answers said they’d feel uncomfortable, which is 3 out of the 42 who replied. I then asked, on a scaled of 1-5 how much people know about the transgender transition people have to go through, the average score was 2.71 which is good because that means that by doing the film I can inform people about the pain people go through while the transition and what the hard times they go through and why they feel like they’re not who they’re born to be. From what I know about my interviewee’s, I know that at least one of them struggle with mental illnesses and self harming, so to make my film a lot more personal and realistic I asked in the questionnaire whether people would find showing or mentioning self-harm would be upsetting. If the majority had said yes then I would’ve not put it in the film because I wouldn’t have wanted to mention that, but since 93% of the answers voted no then I will put that aspect into the film since it’s quite a raw aspect to people who don’t feel like they’re in the right body for their mind.

Focus Group

I found out from my focus group that my peers would prefer to see a boy-girl transgender rather than the girl-boy transgender. This makes a little harder since the three boys that I’m interviewing are girl-boy transgenders. However, I know of an actress that is boy-girl transgender who could play the part really well. I’m going to have to manipulate the information I get from the questions to fit the character, however since it’s not a documentary I’m allowed to do this to fit the story line. Most films about transgenderism are about before the transition and the during, because they all tend to fit the same storyline I’m going to change it and have them transitioning and about what life is like after the transition and how they feel and how they’re treated. The focus group said that it should be informative but not statics, so the content should be true and correct to transgenderism, informing the audience in a subtle way. My peers said that the music should be subtle, background music when it’s needed, and that maybe if I do a montage on the transition it should be happy, upbeat music to symbolise the mood of the transition and how it’s making the person feel. Considering transitioning isn’t just negative or just positive, the film should create the mood that it’s both. It should have all aspects, including the negative and positive aspects. Most transgenderism films are the negative side of it and how they feel in their head, not how happy they are after the transition and how it impacts their life in a positive way, I’m going to have both of these aspects in my film to show the true side of everything during their transition and life afterwards.

YouTube Analytics

I asked a few people that do similar films on YouTube for they YouTube analytics, but only one person came back to me. 49% of the geographies were from the US, 9.2% from the UK, then Canada, India and Germany. For my film it’ll probably be a higher % in the UK since I’m from the UK myself, however if I promote the film well enough then it should get a wider geographical interest. 74% of the viewers are female, and the rest male. This is probably because the majority of transgender’s are female-male, meaning they’re more likely to watch the film. 87% of the people saw her film from the suggested videos part, and only 9.1% from searching the subject, this means that the video is quite big and whenever people search the subject it comes up as a suggested one to watch after the one they just watched. This helps me target my audience more, however it would’ve been better if more people were to of answer.

Commissioning

Commissioning is wehre a big distribution or media company will actively seek out new ideas, like channel 4’s comedy page. This is a screenshot of some of the brief for BBC:Screen Shot 2016-10-10 at 12.47.01.png

(http://downloads.bbc.co.uk/commissioning/site/bbc-commissioning-process-framework.pdf)

My film will support a) because it will be relating to a lot of current affairs as transgenderism is growing so quickly and it’s so new to so many people, it will also be original because I’m trying to make my film as different to many other transgender dramas that are out there. I probably won’t be able to make a provision for the deaf or visually impaired since this is only a college production and we don’t have access to that level of professionalism. Most production companies are wanting commissioning on big TV programmes/films, whereas mine will only be a small short film that’s not as high of a quality as the rest therefore I don’t think my film will be able to get commissioning, however I will keep my eyes open at all times.

Crowdfunding

When doing crowdfunding, there are two ways you can do it. You can get the financial support by getting donations from the public where the benefactor gets ‘only personal satisfaction of having take part in the project’, or rewards where the the benefactor gets a credit title, visit to see the film set, etc. (http://www.centrodeinnovacionbbva.com/en/news/crowdfunding-oscars-and-cinema-industry). 

I went on https://www.kickstarter.com/projects/1869987317/wish-i-was-here-1/description, to watch Zach Braff’s crowdfunding video for a new film. What he’s said in the video is that crowdfunding is good because you get to produce the film how you want it made, and not how other people who are investing  want you to make it. He want’s his film to be exactly how he imagined it, and not how the investors imagine it because then he wouldn’t be happy with himself or the movie. He offers many incentives like behind the scenes films, going to the premiere with him, copies of the script, and even to be an extra. The content below about the film, and the finance, and everything, is written in a personal way rather than a formal way to make the audience feel a lot more involved in the production and as they’re actually going to be a big helping making this film, which actually was made. He’s trying to connect with the audience rather than sounding like a stupid robot that’s just asking for money. He puts up drawings and idea’s he’s made for the film, so that the investors know exactly what they’re paying for.

I then looked on kickstarter for a smaller production to try and find they’e ways of reeling people in. This is a documentary about people who saved the last polaroid factory in the world and how they want t o keep analog film and photography alive in such a digital world, also being shot in 35mm, maybe even the last documentary shot on 35mm film. The kickstarter page tells us all about the film and whats it’s going to be about and how much money they need to produce it. It’s even put at the bottom the risks and challenges of the film, so that people who back it know that it could  not be made and they may lose money. This project doesn’t have an incentives.

Looking at the kick starter stats (https://stephenfollows.com/film-crowdfunding-kickstarter-statistics/) 43% of film projects are successful, however 59% of short films reach their goal, which is good since that’s what I’ll be doing. The busiest and best months are March, April and June which is good because that’s when I’ll be filming my project, and Tuesday is the most popular. I won’t put my deadline on a Sunday since they have a lower success rate. than the rest of the week. Documentary is the highest genre that is launched of 28.4%, shorts are there as a 14.7% (which is what i’ll be doing), and also drama is 4.5%, meaning that my drama short is quite popular on kickstarter. The average of people who reach their goal is around 40% of people, however my goal won’t be as large as most peoples because it’s a smaller production, meaning I will most likely meet my goal. The UK is the second country with the best success rate, following France.

Conclusion

I have found out that I’ll be reaching my audience via social media like Facebook, Twitter and Instagram. On these I’ll be making pages that are hyped up and create a good buzz so that it promotes the film a lot, like making a countdown to the video being released. I’ll be making an artistic and intriguing picture to put as the profile picture as clickbait. I also found out that inviting friends and asking them to promote the page too will make a bigger audience for the page, also by putting trailers and behind the scenes pictures on which will create a big buzz. I’ll create as much visual aspects on the pages because it makes it easier to represent the film and promote it. I will use social media, YouTube, festivals, shortoftheweek.com, etc as outlets. Social media and YouTube is easy to put on, however festivals much as the Queer festival and LGBT+ in London are quite hard to get into, but they are potential outlets if my film issued enough. Short of the week is a good website for good short films of any genre, however it’s $29 to submit the footage and you might not even get onto the website since they’re very high quality shorts. I found out that  my age group would be 16-25 and any other demographic. I also got that my film needs to be around 6 minutes long and with the plot of a boy to girl transgender rather than girl to boy because then it’s different to all of the other films about transgenderism. I also found that putting a happy/funny spin on the idea is a better vibe than having it all about the bad things about transgenderism, also it might give off a bad vibe implying that transgenderism is wrong. I don’t think that I will be doing commissioning because it’s more for the bigger productions rather than a small college production. However, I will do crowdfunding because I think it will be fun and easy way to get money from people that want to see the film made. I’ll put a lot of promo on it, such as incentives for the donators, proof of concept, a draft of the script, any bit of pre-production would probably go on to my crodwfunding website just so that the donators and audience know what’s happening ad that i’m progressing with the film. Overall, all of the research has helped me form and develop my idea to what it is now, and helped me know how I’ll be promoting the film and o what platform and how I’ll finance it.

