Researching social media campaigns

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

I first google some social realist films that I could then research and look at their campaigns. The first one I looked at was Trainspotting’s Facebook, which is now promoting T2: Trainspotting. I like the fact that they’ve put it on the old Facebook because then they know that they already have an audience for T2 rather than making a new page just for T2. This page has overall which means that it is a successful website for promoting and creating a buzz for Trainspotting. Before T2 was announced, they used the page to keep the buzz going with Trainspotting (even after 20 years), by posting up pictures of scenes with funny or relatable quotes. They also used hashtags that are commonly used so that they will be in the search flow of some people looking through those hashtags, such as #Euros2016 and then following it with a scene from the film people must really like. To keep the buzz alive they also did character quizzes and have pictures of the cast and asked the audience who they likes best, etc. This just keeps the 20 year old film alive to many of the fans and also promotes it to people who haven’t watched the film. I then looked at their Twitter, which is a lot smaller than their Facebook with only 1,575 followers and 5 tweets. Since Trainspotting is such an old film compared to the use of internet promotion, there was no original promotion for Trainspotting such as behind the scenes or sneak peaks, and because of how much of a success the first Trainspotting was I think they don’t need all of this promotion for the second film, apart from trailers.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

I then looked at This is England’s Facebook. This has less likes than Trainspotting of 781,343. The day of the film release they stopped using the Facebook, however on the day they used capitals to emphasise the fact that it’s realising on that day, and on what channel, to get people to watch it. Just like the Trainspotting Facebook, they included pictures of scenes usually with quotes of the film that are relatable, famous or funny to increase the amount of shares of that post. They also posted fan art and questions to try and involve the audience, such as ‘who’s your favourite character?’. This is good because it makes the audience feel involved and important, like the page cares about who you prefer and that they like getting fan art and are appreciative of having the fans and audience they do. They also made spottily playlists/soundtracks for the audience so that they can enjoy the songs that are in the films and series’. I looked at the Twitter, which they don’t have.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

I then looked into the AdULTHOOD Facebook, which turns out to be the new page for promoting BrOTHERHOOD. It’s good because they can reach out the audience of one of their films, to influence them to watch their last film. This has the smallest amount of likes out of the three pages I looked at of 193,330. However, this page will be how I want mine to be since it has behind the scenes pictures and videos that the actors recorded to promote the making of BrOTHERHOOD. It also has videos like the trailers, opening scenes, small clips, etc etc to create a buzz on this film via the audience of AdULTHOOD. They’re also giving out premiere tickets to the film to connect with the audience and make them feel involved and also excited for the film as a whole. One thing they have in common with the other two is by putting pictures of shots up online, however these are shots that have just been shot rather than famous shots with famous quotes. Their Twitter involved of 4,227 followers which is more than the other two films Twitters, this is because they retweet and involve the fans in their page, creating a hype.

Overall, Trainspotting and This is England were already famous films before the Facebook page meaning they could put famous, funny and relatable shots on the pages with quotes that fans understand. However, with BrOTHERHOOD/AdULTHOOD, they started their promotion from scratch and used the influence of making the audience feel involved with many pictures and videos for behind the scenes. I’ll be more like the AdULTHOOD page, because I’ll be creating a buzz by putting sneak peaks, behind the scenes, etc on my Facebook. I’ll also be interacting with fans, just like their Twitter does.


Crowdfunding Sites

Screen Shot 2016-11-07 at 13.28.53.png
Campaign

Firstly, I looked at this Indiegogo campaign on a short film where a son and father work together for years and the father helps his son get to where he is now, which is the boss of his father who unfortunately needs to be fire due to his dementia. In his promotional video, he explains the storyline, who’s involved, what the money is going towards and the perks of being a contributor. The video is a plain video of Drew infant of a camera explaining it all in depth, which small title screens in between with questions people are likely to want answers to before they contribute. The feel of the video is slow and emotional to portray the feel of the film, with calm instrumental music of the top of the emotionless director. In the information, he breaks the aspects down into even more detail. Firstly, explaining the story in an intriguing and detailed way to grab the audience’s attention. He then goes on to explain what the money will be used for, using a graphic representation of a pie chart explaining what exactly they need the money for. The next subheading is ‘The Impact’, which explains why he’s making the film and how it will impact the audience. He uses statistics and references of the amount of Americans who get Alzheimer’s to make it known that it’s a relatable and relevant story to be telling, the process of dementia. The last heading is to round of how the audience can help the campaign by promoting the Indiegogo site on social media to gain more contributors. All of this information is under the ‘Story’ part of the page. On my crowdfunding site, I shall be explaining all these aspects to the audience too because I feel like they’re relevant and needed information for anyone to want to contribute money to a film. The next header is ‘Updates’, which consists of just two posts containing information of the updates, both from two months ago. They’re basically just posts that he’s recognised the amount of people contributing and how fast the the support and money’s coming in, and appreciating the fact that many people are wanting the film to be made. This is a personal aspect of the page making the audience feel like they’re personally being spoken to by the director, which makes the film have a more personal feel and meaning they will gain more contributors. Finally, the last page is ‘Backers’, which is a list of people who have contributed money and what amount of money they’ve paid for the film to be made. This helps the audience know roughly how much people are paying for the film, and also makes the campaign feel a lot more personal. Overall, the page is very successful as they have 101% of their target. On my page I will most likely add the aspects he has, however I will have more frequent updates of many things such as the script and behind the scenes to make the page feel a lot more personal and to show the audience that we’re very serious about the film and that it will be made well and effectively, using the money the backers give.

Screen Shot 2016-11-07 at 13.49.46.png
Campaign

I then had a look on Kickstarter for social realistic films and this unsuccessful page showed up. This page barely has any information about the film or the progress on, it doesn’t even include an introducing video from the filmmaker and just has a picture. I think this is one reason why it’s unsuccessful since visual aspects are usually more gripping to the audience, and a lot more personal since it’s like the filmmaker is talking to the audience. Also, it explains the story and the usage of money without the audience having to read it on a plain page. The page then goes in to only have two subheadings, ‘About this project’, ‘risks and challenges’. I think they’ve done well to include a subheading about the project to explain the to audience the about the storyline and a short line about what the money will be used for. It’s written very well, however it’s not promoted very well. The page also doesn’t have any perks for the backers, not even anything small such as a name in the credit just the make the audience interested and willing to back the project. In my opinion, this page was unsuccessful because of the lack of information on the project, and the lack of connection with the audience since there isn’t even a picture of the filmmaker for the personal aspect. Overall, theres not a lot to talk about this page as it doesn’t have a lot of sections to it, apart from the fact that it’s not very personal and didn’t connect to the audience successfully meaning they gained no backers.

screen-shot-2016-11-07-at-13-57-27
Campaign

The video is different to the top video since it has a small taster of the film at the start, to show the filming techniques and how the film will look once it’s finished. It then goes to the writer and director to explain what the film is about, as a voice over of some of the pre-shot footage to create the visual aspect. It also has a small contribution of the main character and why she thinks the character/film is important in today’s society. This film is about homosexuality and a woman who has always covered it up since it wasn’t accepted in her younger life, however now she’s older, her repressed sexuality is more embraced and it’s about her dealing with this. The ‘Campaign’ heading of the page first explains the story of the film in more detail, and then goes on to talk about the budget. The budget subheading includes a pie chart, like the top campaign, as more of a visual aspect to intregue the audience and make it more personal. It then has a list of their goals that they want to reach with the money, explaining what they need to do to make the film happen and how they need that money for it to happen. The next subheading is the cast, which goes to help the audience connect more with the actresses in the film, which agin creates more of a personal connection to gain more backers. They then do the same with the team, so that you get to know how professional and successful they are at their job, and also to connect with the team as well as the actresses. The next heading is ‘Updates’, just like the first campaign I looked at. However, this one is more frequently updated and has a better interface since it’s more like a timeline. They have only updates two updates so far, however they started them on the 4th of November, doing another on the 6th of Novemeber, which was yesterday. This means that they’re going to be updating the page a lot more frequently to keep the backers up to date on what they’re buying and how well the film is coming together.  Overall, this is another successful project even though it hasn’t reached the goal yet, and I again think this is down to the amount of personal input they have put on the page and the amount of visual representations they’ve used.

Conclusively, my page will be frequently updated on the movement of the production and how well the planning is going, giving the audience a constant reminder that the film is going to be made and how hard I’m working to make it a success. It will also have a video to introduce the film, which will be the proof of concept that I’m going to be making, so that the audience have a small taster of the film. I will also put a small aspect in it of me talking about the storyline of the film and why I think it should be made, just so that the backers have seen my face and have a small idea of what I’m like, to make a personal connection with the audience so they don’t think they’re giving money to strangers. I will then again explain the story in the page, with also the explanation of what the budget is and what I’ll be using the money for. I will then have a list of small perks, meaning the more money donated the higher the perk you will gain.


Crowdfunding planning

My crowdfunding page is going have a very personal style to it, to connect with the audience and make them feel involved with the whole concept of the film. To enhance this I’m going to start off by doing an introduction video for the film, involving shots from my proof of concept and also a little introduction with me talking about the film and why I feel like it should be made. In my opinion, by involving shots of me talking to the camera makes the audience feel like I’m talking directly to them which makes them feel a lot more involved in the production, rather than just contributing some money to someone that they don’t really know. Another way that I’m going to be making it personal will be by involving incentives for contributing to the funds of the video production. Examples of these would be to have their names in the credits, or even have them as an extra in the film if they live locally. Since the budget will only be low, I won’t be able to gain enough money for the production and also give out expensive incentives such as T-shirts or posters. I feel like also putting a small section about me and my team, including actors, will make it feel a lot more personal since the audience will be able to get to know the crew behind the film. Finally, to make it more personal I will be incorporating updates and teasers of the script onto the page, to create more of a buzz and so that the contributors a lot more confident that the film is going to be made. The updates will also include big thank you’s to any contributors that have already backed the project, so that they  know that I am a human, interacting and appreciating their contribution to my film.

My crowdfunding campaign will have the time scale of around 3 months, because I’m going to start filming in February. I’m going to set it up as soon as the proof of concept is filmed so that I can get a bigger time frame, gaining more backers and money to make my film as good as possible. All of my contributions will go on many things on the production, from renting locations out to props and costumes involved in the film. Since my film is a college film, I have the access to equipment and actors from the drama department, meaning my funding wont be as large as other productions because I will only need extra things. Therefore, I’m not sure how much money I’ll need, I’m going to have to do a lot more research into what props and locations I’m going to be using for my film.


Social Media Updates

11.11.2016

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

The first thing I did for my social media is googled unique girls names, then wrote down a list of ones I liked. I then asked my class what names they thought was best for my characters transitioned name. Once we came up with ‘Ava’, I thought it would be a good name for the film since it’s short and snappy but also intriguing because you’re not sure what the films actually about since it’s just a female name as the title. After this, I set up a Twitter, Facebook and started a Kickstarter. Once I had set these up with the name, I realised I needed a promotional display picture and header that is relevant to the film. I didn’t want to use my face for this because it’s not what my films about, so I thought about what my film was about and came to the conclusion that using a classmate of mine who has prominent feminine features, such as long styled hair. I asked my classmate to do a normal medium shot in front of the camera, and then I thought about emphasising on the feminine feature by asking her to twirl her long curled hair. On that photograph she is smiling, which symbolises how happy Ava, in my film, is going to be after the transition. I edited he display pictures with a picture of a male classmate of mine on top, and blurred both of the photographs together to symbolise gender confusion.


13.11.2016

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

The first stage of my social media I created the display picture and header to try and engage the audience into my film and social media. I then broadcasted the pictures and did a tweet/status trying to engage the audience onto my social media. I invited quite a lot of my friends list on Facebook to like my page and asked some of my friends to follow my twitter to try and gain as many followers in my control.


14.11.2016

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Today I started up my crowdfunding page and then broadcasted when I’ll be going live on my social media, to try and keep the audience interactive and updated with everything. I also promoted my Facebook status to try and get interactions and noticed before the proof of concept is realised, to try and create a buzz with the audience. I also used a picture of myself creating the crowdfunder to try and make the audience feel involved, and give it a personal feel to the fact that it’s me and not a big company.


24.11.2016

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

The last couple of weeks I started to follow a few LGBT related pages and sharing their posts that are relevant to transgenderism, to show the audience that I’m up to date with the recent occurrences in the world. I also told my audience that I am on the way to planning everything, and that the film is nearly on the way to filming after all of the planning I did. Finally, I helped promote my friends film who is based on me.


28.11.2016

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

This week I have started filming so I have updated my audience about the filming and how we forgot a boom. Also, I have put a teaser online to show everyone that it’s finally starting up and what it’s going to look like.


06.12.2016

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

I’ve been using hashtags in ever post to try and widen the amount of views on every page. I also have tried to interact with many people by using ‘caption this’ and the heart and share if people are wanting an early realise, also trying to widen the views. I have also put the proof of concept onto my page – hopefully people will like it and want to see the full film.


Crowdfunding Updates

14.11.2016

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

I set up my crowdfunder that is going to be live on the 27th November for 8 weeks. I’m hoping to raise £300 to fund travel, props, location and simple food for the project. Once I’ve done my proof of concept I’ll be putting a video up to show the audience what my film will look like, even if it will be different actors.


Distribution

For the distribution of my film I looked at three different websites: withoutabox.com, filmfreeway and underwrite film festival. On withoutabox I found they had a lot of LGBT film festivals, ranging between $12 to $35 (USD). The first one I saw was LGBT London, which was $20-$40 (USD) to submit your film which has to be either 45 minutes or under, or over 45 minutes. However, the deadline for this film festival is December 13, 2016 and my film won’t be finished by then, therefore I can’t submit it to LGBT London. The next one I saw was Wicked Queer : The Boston LGBT Film Fest in USA. This is $12-$35 (USD) to submit your short or feature film via DVD or Email. Once again, the deadline is too soon since it’s already been, December 1st 2016, meaning I have missed the deadline.  Lastly on withoutabox, I found Coventry LGBTQ film festival in England, which is a lot easier to get to. This is the cheaper of £10-£20, with any sort of film (documentary, feature, short and music video). However, this is high resolution only and also the deadline dates are coming up quickly, meaning I can’t submit. Overall, the only one I’d submit it to if I had the chance, or maybe next year, would be Coventry LGBTQ.

The next website I looked at was filmfreeway. I found Glitter festival in USA which is $15-$25 (USD) to submit your film, which can be a student film and not amazing quality. Even though Glitter is in USA, the deadline if more reasonable of 15th March, 2017. Another festival on this website is YoungFilmmakers in New York, which is $25-$35 (USD), with the deadline of January 2nd to February 6th, 2017. This festival also accepted student films that are low quality. Finally, I fond FIRE!!! Barcelona LGBT film festival thats only $2 (USD) to submit, with a good deadline of Feb 1st – March 15th 2017 and accepting student films. Overall, the festivals I found on here that are LGBT all accept student films, meaning mine would most likely be accepted. They also have a later deadline, even though it’s too early still for my film. And they are also pretty cheap. However, I may consider submitting the year after since they’re cheap and well known.

Finally I looked at underwire festival. This is only £10-£15 to submit. I looked for the deadline, however it only have the deadline from this year and not net year, but I’m assuming they’re around the same dates (November 30 – December 4). All of their submissions are student films made by females, and since mines quite and upcoming subject and I am an female student director, I reckon I could maybe get into this next year.

