One thing my interviewer picked up about my interview is that my skills and knowledge weren’t communicated very well through my CV. This is because I didn’t put down what technology and computer software I’m able to use effectively. My CV was also too long winded meaning that it was hard to read. However, she explained that I communicated myself well in the interview because I answered every question effectively and explained why I would be good for the job. I communicated my media skills and knowledge effectively verbally, but not very good on my CV. In the future, I could change my CV so that I’m able to effectively portray my skills and knowledge before I get the interview, increasing my opportunity to get an interview.

When I change my CV, I’m going to make sure that the information at the top is the most important information for the job I’m applying for, for this job I would put my past experience in media productions and leading a team at the top. I also would’ve included the technology and software that I’m able to use, for example saying that I’m able to use Final Cut Pro X swiftly and that I’m able to work a Canon 550D. I think this will help me achieve my career goals because when people look through my CV quickly, they’ll be able see the important information about the job easily and realise that I have the right skills and experience for the job, rather than having to read through the CV to find the relevant information.

When I prepared for my interview, I went over the job application again to remind myself the job I was applying for. I also went over the skills required so that I know what to emphasise in the interview to make sure they know that I’m the best for the job. From doing this, I was prepared for the interview enough to not have any questions to ask in the interview. However, I after the interview I have come to realise that I could’ve asked questions about pension plans and what other benefits the job gives me, apart from just being a director and enjoying the job. I couldn’t think of any questions to ask about the job role itself since doing this course had made me pretty equipped on what directors do in productions and the responsibilities they have and what qualities they need.

Overall, from my mock interview I haven’t learnt that when you’re applying for a job they tend to look at your CV very briefly at first, meaning that you have to put the most important and relevant information at the top and easy to read. I did a small brief cover letter, cover letters are important meaning in the future I will write a better and more in-depth cover letter so that it looks more personal and aimed at the specific job. I also learnt that putting every GCSE qualification I have in order isn’t the most effective thing because it fills up a lot of space for irrelevant information, for example putting history down for a media job. However, I haven’t learnt that my way of approaching an interview is good, and how I’m confident and knowledgable with the interviewer. I think by doing this mock interview has helped me prepare for future interviews because I now know where I have gone wrong, and what I’ve done well.

 

