Introduction

I’m going to be discussing the literature I’ve researched based on the title, ‘Exploring the techniques in modern British Social Realism’. I have read four books, one journal and a university dissertation on this subject matter. The reason why I’m exploring this subject is so that I know what conventions are in the modern version of the genre, rather than the stereotypical and outdated conventions. Resulting in my FMP using these conventions to fit into the modern ‘Social Realism’ genre.

The Sources: Validity and Reliability

The journal and the good books I have read, are all reliable and valid since they are books. Books are more reliable than the online dissertation I have read since they have been edited and checked through nearly 10 times before publishing, to make sure all of the information being broadcasted is correct. All of the books have genuine publishers who have made sure everything in the book is correct, and they took out every possible false piece of information. Books go through many tries before they are finally batched, however the online dissertation may have only gone through one person, maybe even none. The dissertation will be reliable to an extent, however not fully like a book.

Similarities and Differences

Four of the sources agreed that social realism meant that “masculinity has been called into question” (Murphy, 2009: 371), taking away the male roles, “changing gender roles” (Ashby & Higson, 2000: 253). Woman started working more and becoming more independent, taking away the masculine aspect of males being the only person in the household gaining an income. In my FMP, I will use this narrative technique in two ways; one way by having my main character go against the male gender roles by being transgender, and a character who agrees with the masculinity and is against my main character because of this. Another set of the sources agreed that the films are all based on the working class, bringing out the “hard-bitten” and “gritty”(Ashby & Higson, 2000: 249) life of the working class, making the TV shows/films more realistic and relatable. These quotes will help me form the setting in my film by making sure the props and location are agreeing with the working class setting and not censoring out any sensitive props or narrative scenes. Some sources also explained how many of the conventions in Social Realistic films was the “relationship between character, place and identity” (Hill & Petley, 2012: 485), which will help me with my FMP by creating a narrative that I is incorporating the relationship between my characters identity and how the people in the place deal with the sudden change.

There is only a few differences, one is that Best of British: Cinema and Society from 1930 and Present, said that social realistic cinema “helped to shape the American attitudes towards Britain” (Richards & Aldgate: 151), which none of the other sources agreed on. Another difference is that Journal of British Cinema said social realistic cinema “spawned a ‘hidden’ social crisis in the UK” (Hill & Petley, 2012: 482)

Conclusion

Overall, some of this information will help my final project since I have learnt many conventions of Social Realism and how they effect the audience. It also means that when I’m writing my final project I don’t have to censor it, because the best social realistic films are uncensored and “hard-bitten” (Ashby & Higson, 2000: 249). Reading through these books, and the dissertation, has definitely broadened my knowledge of the genre and has helped me with ideas to make my final film blatantly socially realistic. Finally, by doing this exercise I now know which aspects of the documentary style, and which aspects of the drama style to incorporate to make the best social realistic film I can make.

bibliography

