Why should it be made?

Transgenderism isn’t a very well known subject and social perspective, many people use the stereotypes of transitioned people. Most people assume that male to female transgenders are usually ‘drag queens’ and wear a lot of makeup, heels, dresses, etc. However, in real life not a lot of trans females pursue themselves in this way, because not many cis females (where they’re sex and gender are female) aren’t like that. Therefore, many trans females dress in jeans and minimal to none makeup. A lot of people don’t realise this, and that’s the purpose of my film. My film is to inform society to how trans females are not usually stereotypical. Another reason why I’m making this film is to also inform people as to how people feel before transitioning, while transitioning, and afterwards. People can’t read minds and understand how people feel, however I’d like to open the minds of people to help them understand the thoughts and process people go through to become who they really are. I’ve interviewed three of my friends who are transgender, so I have an understanding on how they felt through the whole transition and I’d like to incorporate this into my film to help society understand this also. To do this, I’m going to be using the genre of social realism to help the audience connect with the narrative. Social realism uses real locations, realistic dialogue and slang, which will help the audience to connect to the film. All of the transgender films that I’ve watched are under the drama genre, meaning they’re more dramatised and over exaggerated rather than realistic. By making the film social realistic, I’m going to be able to connect with the audience a lot better and be able to fulfil the purpose of educating people about what the transition is like. Also, how the people feel/deal with everything before, during and after. I’m also not going to miss things out by including every realistic and brutal aspect of some sorts of bullying and discrimination. I chose social realism over drama because I didn’t want it to seem unrealistic and dramatised, meaning not many people would be able to connect with the characters since they’d just think it’s all fictional. I wanted to make my film as realistic and relatable as possible, however I didn’t want to make a documentary. This is because, documentaries are quite hard to watch compared to fictional pieces. Fictional pieces tell a story with visual representations and in more detail, rather than documentaries that are interview based.

Where it could be screened

I have previously researched a lot of festivals, one of which is the LGBT London festival (which is $20-$40 USD to submit). This audience would be good because of the community attending; trans people would be able to relate to the transitioning, some people may come to the realisation that they’re going through the start of transitioning and that they are transgender, and it would also be able to educate non trans people on the ins and outs of transitioning and how they feel. I feel like this would be a good festival to submit my film into because there’s a lot of relatable content. However, one of the purposes of the film is to educate people about transitioning and the thoughts going through transgender peoples heads. Therefore, I’ve looked at more festivals, one of which is YoungFilmmakers in NY ($25-$35 USD). This would also be a good festival to enter because they take low quality student films, and it’s also a wider audience to inform and educate the thoughts and feelings when someone is transitioning. Conclusively, I feel like these are two good festivals to enter because of the audience attending. LGBT London is good because the audience is able to relate and YoungFilmmakers is good to inform many people who don’t understand and relate. This would be able to fulfil the purpose to make a short film that trans people can finally relate to, and also a film that can educate and inform people about transitioning.

