I have done some research into Vimeo, YouTube and Facebook as platforms for my film. People are constantly using Facebook, according to Morrison it’s “the No.1 social network” and “is used by 70 percent to 80 percent of people in every age group” (2015). From this, I know what I’m going to be putting my film on Facebook as it’s got a huge audience, especially with teens, according to Kibble (2014). This is great because most of my target audience if teenagers since they’re more effected by the issue I’m addressing in my film. Although, it’s good that it’s shown to the older age group too because that was also my other target audience. Facebook is a free platform to upload videos onto, which is also another perk of uploading my film onto this social media.

YouTube is also another free platform to upload films onto, consisting of an even wider audience. According to Aynsley,  “YouTube is the second most popular search engine in the world, according to Alexa and other ranking sites” (N/A). This is a big perk to uploading Ava onto YouTube because I know it will have a bigger chance of gaining views, due to the search traffic they have. I compared YouTube to Vimeo. Vimeo is a video platform that is for “professionals and businesses” according to Aynsley, which means I don’t think that I would fit in on Vimeo since my film is a short, student film. Also, you have to pay to uploads most things onto Vimeo which has a limited storage amount for the website. Since I’m not looking to target the “niche community of filmmakers and creators” (Aynsley) that Vimeo provides, however I want to target a range of ages and people. Overall, I have chosen to upload my film onto YouTube because it’s appealing factors of a broader audience and free uploads, as well as uploading to Facebook. I’m uploading it onto Facebook because I’ve built a community with my Ava Facebook page and I feel like they’ll all want to see the final product.

I did some research into how to intrigue my audience to watch my films using the captions I write on the posts. According to Ganguly, I should “write text to skim readers” on Facebook, because of the audience that use Facebook and how they’ll find it more intriguing with short and snappy captions (2015). From another source, Tunecore.com (author unknown), they say that on YouTube you should have a “relevant” and that in your description you should “go in depth”. Following from this, on Facebook I wrote a short snappy caption for my followers. Also, on YouTube I did a relevant title, using ‘student film’ in the name to give it more search traffic, yet going into detail in the description.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

 

 

 

